Since our founding in 1995, the Design Trust has solicited project proposals from government agencies, nonprofit organizations and community groups through an open Request for Proposals (RFP). For the first time in our history, we have opened up our RFP to individuals in addition to government agencies, nonprofit organizations and community groups. 

This year, we launched "The Energetic City: Connectivity in the Public Realm," our 2014 RFP to seed and develop projects that address the concept of connectivity in the public realm. You can read the full RFP, The Energetic City: Connectivity in the Public Realm," by clicking the download link at right. 

The submission deadline was Monday, June 30, 2014 at 5:00pm EST. All applicants will be notified of their status by July 1, 2014. Finalists will be presented to the selection jury on July 30th. A public presentation to announce the winners will take place that evening.  

Key Dates:

  • May 19 - June 30, 2014: Online expressions of interest accepted until 5:00pm EST on June 30th. 
  • July 7, 2014: Full proposals are due and will be requested by invitation-only. 
  • July 30, 2014: Finalists will present to the selection jury followed by a public presentation (time and location to be confirmed). 
  • August 2014: Selected projects begin!

Design Trust Selection Jury:  

"The Energetic City" is made possible in part by the National Endowment for the Arts. Seed funding for the selected projects has been generously provided by the following Founder's Circle members: Agnes Gund, Kitty Hawks, Sophia W. Healy, Lily Auchincloss Foundation, Camila Pastor & Stephen Maharam, and Kelly Posner. 

Questions? Contact Rosamond Fletcher, our Director of Programs.

Past Project RFPs

2009 RFP


Selection Jury: Hugo Barreca, Deborah Berke, Jim Biber, Victor Body-Lawson, Tessa Huxley, Eric Rothman

Selected Projects: Five Borough Farm; Made in Midtown

2007 RFP


Selection Jury: John Alschuler, Laurie Kerr, William Menking, Sylvia Smith, Claire Weisz

Selected Projects: Park Design for the 21st Century; Reinventing Grand Army Plaza

2004 RFP


Selection Jury: Vishaan Chakrabarti, Candace Damon, Kitty Hawks, Tom Jost, Andy Stone

Selected Project: Sustainable New York City

2002 RFP


Selection Jury: Alison Bauer, Ken Greenberg, Maxine Griffith, Peter Rothschild, Marilyn Taylor

Selected Projects: Greening Infrastructure in the Right-of-Way; Long Island City: Connecting the Arts 

2000 RFP


Selection Jury: Robert Fox, Maxine Griffith, Yael Melamede, Mark Robbins, Kevin Wolfe

Selected Projects: Reclaiming the High Line; Thresholds of Eib's Pond

1999 RFP


Selection Jury: Deborah Berke, Maxine Griffith, Signe Nielsen

Selected Projects: Implementing the High Performance Building Guidelines; Housing and Open Space

1998 RFP


Selection Jury: DD Allen, Deborah Berke, David Childs, Louise Harpman, Lionel McIntyre, Daniel Rose

Selected Projects: High Performance Building Guidelines; Mapping Early African American Settlements; Intermodal Transfer Improvement Project 

1996 RFP


Selection Jury: Max Bond, Mary Griffin, Raquel Ramati, Marilyn Taylor, Claire Weisz

Selected Projects: Designing for ChildrenDesigning for SecurityDiego Beekman Houses Design Workshop

The Energetic City RFP:


Page of

Page of

Page of

Page of